… and then-

June 2, 2009 at 7:43 pm (original poetry/prose, the Muse sings)

Well.  I did land eventually.

I flew across time and space, chaos and control.  It was quite a reasonable madness, to fly in the face of what I thought was prophecy.  To save the life of one mortal man, my favorite of them all: my darling husband.

He’d been exploring in distant lands, not that distance means much of anything to someone so ridiculously magikal as myself.  I’d tried to escape facing Fate… not that Fate meant anything to one so fundamentally rebellious as myself.

So what if the cards always came up Death for him?  So what if the stars said he wouldn’t survive me?  I had to try.

“What are you doing here, sweetie?”  He said, when I landed in a flurry of dark feathers.  “I am glad to see you, but truly… I can fight off this angry tribe of pygmies with my boot knife, quite on my own.”

“That may well be,” I replied, kicking one machete-wielding screamer into a nearby thornbush, “but wouldn’t you rather let me fly you to your zeppelin and tend your wounds?”

Of course he said yes.

Leave a Reply

